Hikari: the first energy-positive block in Europe

The necessary energy transition of our society is prompting the search for innovating technological solutions. Public-sector development company SPLA Lyon-Confluence launched a competition to build an energy-positive building: a challenge taken up by setec bâtiment, Kengo Kuma & associates and Bouygues Immobilier with the Hikari project.

Consisting of three buildings on 12,000 square metres, this futuristic block is the first energy-positive development in Europe and the only eco-neighbourhood in France supported by the World Wildlife Fund (WWF). Once the energy needs had been reduced, the aim above all, for setec bâtiment and its team, was to maximise the renewable energy resources.

The bioclimatic architectural design, centred around light, provides control of energy needs. Pooling of the energy systems of the offices, apartments and shops, along with energy storage, compensates the intermittent character of the renewable resource. Large-scale storage of the cold produced night and day by an absorption chiller is accomplished, in a world first, using a specific phase change material. Melting of this material, which freezes at 5 degrees, restores a reserve of cold on demand used for summer cooling of the premises. The other storage systems (heat, electricity) coupled with sophisticated recovery systems, a heat pump, solar energy and plant-oil-fired trigeneration enable the required energy balance to be achieved.

 

Control energy consumption

Although the Hikari project gives priority to renewable energies, it is also part of the Smart Grid movement, using information technologies to optimise energy production, distribution and consumption. Installation of the latest sensors throughout the buildings gives the occupants access to all the data on their environment and enables them to interact with it. Their comfort is a priority, so thermal comfort is controlled according to the perceived temperature.

By

Complex projects Director
setec bâtiment
Thomas Bousquet is complex projects director at setec bâtiment. In particular, he guarantees to project owners the setec bâtiment standard of quality with regard to hospital techniques.
Technical Director
Setec gl ingénierie
Cédric Borrel is the technical director of setec gl ingénierie, the setec bâtiment subsidiary in south-east France. He has coordinated complex projects in the Lyon region, such as Hikari and the design studies for the development of the Lyon Perrache multimodal interchange hub.

more

Hikari : premier îlot à énergie positive d’Europe

La nécessaire transition énergétique de notre société invite à la recherche de solutions technologiques innovantes. La SPLA Lyon-Confluence a ainsi lancé un concours pour réaliser un bâtiment à énergie positive : défi relevé par setec bâtiment, Kengo Kuma & associates et Bouygues Immobilier avec le projet Hikari.

Composé de trois bâtiments sur 12 000m², cet îlot futuriste est le premier ensemble à énergie positive d’Europe et l’unique éco quartier en France parrainé par le Fonds mondial pour la nature (WWF). Une fois réduits les besoins énergétiques, il s’agissait avant tout, pour setec bâtiment et son équipe, de maximiser les ressources d’énergie renouvelable.

La conception architecturale bioclimatique centrée autour de la lumière, a permis un besoin énergétique maitrisé. La mutualisation des installations énergétiques des bureaux, logements et commerces et le stockage d’énergie pallient, quant à eux, le caractère intermittent de la ressource renouvelable. Le stockage à grande échelle du froid produit nuit et jour via une machine à absorption se fait, et c’est une première mondiale, au sein d’un matériau à changement de phase spécifique. Le dégel de ce matériau liquide, mais qui se fige à 5 degrés, restitue à la demande une réserve de froid mise à profit pour le confort d’été des locaux. Les autres dispositifs de stockage (chaleur, électricité) couplés à des systèmes sophistiqués de récupération, une géothermie l’énergie solaire et une tri-génération à l’huile végétale permettent d’atteindre l’équilibre énergétique recherché.

Maîtriser sa consommation énergétique

Si le projet Hikari donne la priorité aux énergies renouvelables, il s’inscrit aussi dans la mouvance du Smart Grid, qui consiste à utiliser des technologies informatiques pour optimiser la production, la distribution et la consommation énergétique. L’installation de capteurs de pointe dans l’ensemble des bâtiments permet aux occupants d’avoir accès à toutes les données de leur environnement et d’interagir avec ce dernier. Leur confort étant une priorité, le contrôle du confort thermique se fait en température ressentie.

Par

Directeur Technique
Setec gl ingénierie
Cédric Borrel, est le directeur technique de setec gl ingénierie, la filiale de setec bâtiment dans le Sud-Est. Il a notamment piloté des projets complexes en région lyonnaise comme Hikari et les études pour l’aménagement du du pôle d'échanges multimodal de Lyon Perrache.
directeur projet hospitalier
setec bâtiment
Thomas Bousquet est directeur de projets complexes au sein de setec bâtiment. Il est, en particulier, le garant auprès des maîtres d'ouvrage du standard de la qualité setec bâtiment en matière de techniques hospitalières.

plus