Innovation at the service of climatic optimisation of the Lakhta Center in Saint Petersburg

setec inginiring, the Russian subsidiary of setec bâtiment, is involved as designer of the technical work packages of the Lakhta Center in Saint Petersburg. Commissioned by energy giant Gazprom, the project includes a tower more than 460 metres high, the city’s first skyscraper.

Located at the confluence of the Neva and the Lakhta, 9 km from the historic centre, the Lakhta Center is a mixed-use non-residential project. From 2018 it is intended to accommodate the offices of Gazprom and a scientific, university, sports and retail complex. The multi-function centre has an atrium 45 metres high with an area of about 4000 square metres, generating beyond-standard climatic demands. The extreme continental temperatures of the site, varying between – 40 °C and + 40 °C with the seasons, necessitate optimisation of the climate control of the atrium. Following an in-depth study using fluid mechanics simulations to analyse the air temperatures and speeds at all points in the volume of the atrium, systems providing the optimum air flow for the comfort of the occupants have been designed.

The study resulted in the proposal of a climate control system based on underfloor heating supplemented by forced air. The air outlet flow rates planned initially could be reduced by 30%, and the locations of the air supply outlets and return intakes optimised so that the whole of the occupation area is climatically comfortable.

A beyond-standard atrium

The Lakhta Center and its 86 storeys will also accommodate the subsidiaries of the world’s leading gas operator and exporter. An approach with major commercial significance, as it could drive the development of the office building market and encourage other major companies to move in turn to the country’s second city.

L’innovation au service de l’optimisation climatique du « Lakhta Center » de Saint-Pétersbourg

setec inginiring, la filiale russe de setec bâtiment intervient en tant que responsable des lots techniques du « Lakhta Center » à Saint-Pétersbourg. Commandité par le géant de l’énergie Gazprom le projet intègre une tour de plus de 460 mètres de haut, premier gratte-ciel de la ville.

Situé à la confluence de la Neva et de la Lakhta, à 9 km du centre historique, le Lakhta Center est un projet à usage mixte non résidentiel. Il devrait abriter dès 2018 les bureaux de Gazprom ainsi qu’un complexe scientifique, universitaire, sportif et commercial. Ce centre multifonction comprend un atrium de 45 mètres de haut et d’environ 4 000m² qui présente un enjeu climatique hors normes. Les températures continentales extrêmes du site, qui varient entre -40°C et +40°C selon les saisons, nécessitent en effet l’optimisation du traitement climatique de l’atrium. À l’issue d’une étude approfondie, au moyen de simulations en mécaniques des fluides qui ont permis de visualiser les températures et vitesses d’air en tous points du volume de l’atrium, des installations permettant d’apporter le juste débit d’air pour le confort des occupants, ont été conçues.

Cette étude a en effet permis de proposer un système de traitement climatique par plancher rayonnant et complément aéraulique. Le dimensionnement des débits d’air à souffler initialement prévu, a pu être réduit de 30%, et l’emplacement des bouches de soufflage et de reprise optimisé pour que toute la zone d’occupation soit climatiquement confortable.

Un atrium hors norme

Le Lakhta Center et ses 86 étages hébergera également les filiales du premier exploitant et exportateur de gaz au monde. Une démarche à l’intérêt commercial majeur, dans la mesure où il pourrait favoriser le développement du marché des immeubles de bureaux et inciter d’autres grandes entreprises à s’installer à leur tour dans la seconde ville du pays.