01/06/2017

Fuel cell combined heat and power generation: a new efficient and clean energy source for buildings

A fuel cell is a system converting the chemical energy of dihydrogen to electrical energy, heat and water, with high efficiency and low environmental impact. Used as part of building combined heat and power generation systems, the fuel cell is an energy supply innovation.

The installation of a fuel cell combined heat and power (CHP) generation unit is planned for the production of electrical and thermal energy at the new Air Liquide Research Centre. Transport and storage of dihydrogen was not desirable for availability and safety reasons, so the selected system uses natural gas (CH4) as its source of dihydrogen, generated on site and consumed immediately.

The unit can provide local and continuous production of electrical energy used directly in the building to cover the base load. The thermal energy released by the chemical reaction in the fuel cell is recovered in a water circuit for heating the premises. This is the main advantage of CHP generation: the heat produced when electrical power is generated is recovered and used, whereas in conventional electricity generation by power plants, the turbine exhaust steam is discharged into the natural environment. The energy efficiency of CHP generation is consequently substantially higher and saves primary energy compared with separate production of electricity and heat.

It should also be noted that the use of fuel cell technology avoids the emission of pollutants such as sulphur and nitrogen oxides, in comparison with a more conventional CHP system using a combustion engine.

The system has no moving mechanical parts, and is consequently much quieter than combustion-driven CHP generation, while requiring fewer maintenance operations.

Lastly, in the context of our project, the integration of this technology into our overall design has meant that there is no need to install a generator set for the backup electricity supply, as the CHP unit can be used for this purpose in the event of a power cut on the main supply to the site.

A Fuji N2telligence CHP unit with an electrical output of 100 kW and a thermal output of 110 kW has been selected.

The principal advantages of this system can be summed up as follows:

  • high efficiency (> 50% electrical and 40% thermal = 90%) compared with conventional electricity generation (30% to 40% without heat recovery),
  • double the efficiency = 50% reduction in CO2 emission,
  • zero emission of pollutants,
  • production as close as possible to the consumption site,
  • quiet

By

Project Manager Praxice
setec bâtiment
“After graduating from university with a degree in environmental chemistry, Cédric Faux began his career in a technical design office working on the design of innovative energy systems, in particular systems operating with fuel cells. Also holder of a Master's degree specialising in Facilites Management, he is currently managing operational assignments for setec bâtiment in the areas of assistance to the project owner for operation and maintenance of property complexes, environmental certification process guidance, and technical commissioning of buildings.”

more

01/06/2017

La cogénération par pile à combustible : une nouvelle source d’énergie efficace et propre pour les bâtiments

Une pile à combustible est un système convertissant l’énergie chimique du dihydrogène en énergie électrique, en chaleur et en eau ; à haute efficacité et faible impact environnemental. Mis en œuvre dans le cadre d’installations de cogénération bâtimentaire, ce système constitue une innovation énergétique.

Pour la production d’énergie électrique et thermique du nouveau Centre de Recherche d’Air Liquide, il est prévu l’installation d’une unité de cogénération à pile à combustible. Le transport et le stockage du dihydrogène n’étant pas souhaitables pour des raisons de disponibilité et de sécurité, le système retenu utilise le gaz naturel (CH4) comme source de dihydrogène qui est ainsi généré in situ et consommé directement.

Cette unité permet de produire en local et en continu un talon d’énergie électrique utilisé directement dans le bâtiment. L’énergie thermique issue de la réaction chimique mise en jeu au sein de la pile est quant à elle valorisée, via un circuit d’eau pour le traitement thermique des locaux. C’est en cela que réside l’intérêt principal de la cogénération : on récupère et utilise la chaleur produite lors de la génération de la puissance électrique ; alors que dans le cadre d’une production électrique classique en centrale, la vapeur turbinée est rejetée dans le milieu naturel. Le rendement énergétique, dans le cadre d’un processus de cogénération, se voit donc grandement amélioré et l’on peut ainsi effectuer une économie sur les énergies primaires par rapport à une production distincte d’électricité et de chaleur.

On notera également que l’utilisation de ce type de technologie, comparativement à un système de cogénération classique à moteur à combustion, permet d’éviter l’émission de produits polluants tels que les oxydes de soufre et d’azote.

L’absence de pièce mécanique en mouvement permet au système d’être beaucoup plus silencieux qu’une cogénération à combustion et les opérations de maintenance associées sont allégées.

Enfin, dans le cadre de notre projet, l’intégration de cette technologie dans notre conception globale a permis d’éviter l’installation d’un groupe électrogène pour l’alimentation électrique de secours, puisque l’unité de cogénération peut être utilisée en tant que tel, en cas de coupure de l’alimentation principale du site.

La solution retenue est une unité de cogénération de marque Fuji N2telligence de 100kW électrique et 110 kW thermique.

En résumé, les principaux avantages de cet équipement sont les suivants :

  • Rendement élevé (>50% électrique et 40% thermique = 90%) comparé à une production d’électricité classique (30 à 40% sans récupération thermique),
  • Rendement doublé = 50% d’émission de CO2 en moins
  • Emission de produits polluants nulle
  • Production au plus proche du lieu de consommation
  • Silencieux

Par

Chef de projet Praxice
setec bâtiment
Issu d’une formation initiale universitaire en Chimie de l’Environnement, Cédric FAUX a débuté sa carrière au sein d’un BET dans la conception de systèmes énergétiques innovants ; fonctionnant notamment avec des piles à combustible. Titulaire d’un Mastère Spécialisé en Facilites Management, il conduit actuellement chez setec bâtiment des missions opérationnelles dans les domaines de l’AMO pour l’exploitation et la maintenance d’ensembles immobiliers, l’accompagnement de processus de certification environnementale ou encore le Commissionnement technique de bâtiments.

plus